Signs of the Afterlife

Loren Kantor
5 min readMay 26, 2024
Those who are dying often see celestial figures.

“We cannot assert that after death there is nothing. Something can never become nothing.” Thich Nhat Hanh

The night before my mom died, she visited me in a dream. She showed me a drawing she’d made in an art class. It was a labyrinthian pattern with multiple twists and turns. I told her it resembled a maze. She smiled. My brother later told me that around the same time, a light fixture blew in his home in Boston. My mom passed away later that morning.

What happens when we die? The body withers like an old flower, but what happens to the spirit? Where does it go?

The first law of Thermodynamics is that energy can neither be created nor destroyed, only altered in form. A cloud morphs into rain. An acorn becomes an oak tree. An animal carcass decomposes and new plants appear. Nothing in nature is wasted. Everything transforms into something else.

A few months before my father passed away in 2019, he began seeing entities. One night he woke around 3:00 am to use the bathroom. He peered into the living room and saw a tall, cloaked figure summoning him. The figure was surrounded by murky visages resembling people. My dad ignored the vision. On his return to the bedroom, the figures were gone.

My father was sick with lymphoma at the time. He was convinced the experience was a dream.

--

--

Loren Kantor

Loren is a writer and woodcut artist based in Los Angeles. He teaches printmaking and creative writing to kids and adults.